May 15, 2024 06:58 PM

Main news

By-election voting continues

Kathmandu. Voting continues in three different constituencies. Bara Area No. 2, Chitwan area no. 2 and Tanahun area no. Voting started at 7 am on the 1st and continues now. The election commission has mentioned that it will last till 5 pm.

Ravi Lamichhane, Chairman of the Rashtriya Swatantra Party (RASWPA), who was elected from Chitwan 2 in the Sampanan House of Representatives election on November 4, was revoked by the Supreme Court, and the by-election has now been held.

Similarly, Nepali Congress leader Ramchandra Poudel elected from Tanahun Region No. 1 became the President and Ramsahay Prasad Yadav of Jaspa elected from Bara 2 became the Vice President. There is a legal provision to hold by-elections if the position of directly elected MP becomes vacant.

Publish On : April 23, 2023